본문 바로가기
IT Tips

What will happen if multiple blocking are done on Kakaotalk

by SenseChef 2014. 9. 27.

Kakaotalk is globally used messaging service having expanded its user base further. Therefore there are much relationship issues happened like blocking, hiding of friend over Kakaotalk


Today I got E-mail from my foreign reader who is questioning what will happen if multiple friends are blocking at the same time.


Single user blocking case has been already covered here on my blog as shown in below.

How to know someone blocked me on Kakaotalk !   Mobile Reading



Questioning for the blocking over Kakaotalk. Soure: Clip art



E-Mail from my reader is as follow. Some part of this was intentionally omitted for privacy issue.

Hey, good morning or good evening.. I don't really know where you're from honestly but I saw your blog from 2012 about how to identify who blocked you on kakaotalk and I have a question.


So I did the inviting that suspicious person into a group conversation with another friend but before I did it, I asked this close friend to block me for 10 minutes so I could test if what you taught online still works, it did, I think.


But the problem is, I invited this friend who I asked to block me to this friend who I was suspecting to block me and the counter said (2) instead of 3.. that means one of them blocked me right, and it's the friend I asked but I think the other person really blocked me because he still hasn't read my message until now.


Is that possible? What if both of them actually had me blocked but the counter just showed 2 instead of 1.. or something.. 


For testing of this, I set up multiple blocking condition. Here is result.


I opened group conversation with 3 people and the below is just opening screen of conversation.


Kakaotalk screen now shows "3", red circled meaning three members group conversation room. At this time, I let two members of my friends blocked me at the same time. This means others are all blocked me now.




I put message "test" as shown in below. Then member counter was changed to "1" from "3", and unread message counter was getting into none meaning zero.


This means unread message counter shows total blocked friend number on the group conversation room. On three member group conversation room, there is none to read my message if two others are all blocked me.



For reference, The below screen is just singe friend blocked condition case. Total member counter was changed to "2" from "3", and unread message counter, "1".




Above test confirms that group conversation room method is still working to identify the blocking condition. And it could be also used to know how many member are blocking me.


I hope this make sure clearing out the ambiguity on blocking condition of your friend over Kakaotalk. But don't say to your friend why he/she blocked you. It could be just person to person issue. Furthermore someday this checking method are not effective any more.


Good relation will be recovered if they are at the good intention wih manner.


Related postings.

Change of Kakaotalk blocking condition upon unregistration and re-registration

Seeing update of profile for the blocked friend on Kakaotalk




댓글2

  • Orangeline 2014.09.30 17:49 신고

    영문으로 작성해주셨네요.
    번역기를 돌려서 봤는데 음... 잘 못알아듣겠네요 ㅜ.ㅜ
    구글 영문유저 유입을 테스트 해보신건지요?
    답글

    • SenseChef 2014.09.30 17:55 신고

      3년전에 외국인 지인께서 카카오톡을 이용하는데 궁금한게 있어도 영어로 된 정보가 너무 적어 아쉽다고 하더라구요. 그래서 카카오톡 관련 몇개의 글을 올렸는데 그 글들을 보고 외국 독자들이 질문을 해 옵니다. 이 글 역시 한 외국인 독자가 영어로 질문해 온 것에 대한 답변입니다. 외국에서의 유입은 간간히 발생되고 있습니다. 관심 가져 주시어 감사 드립니다.