본문 바로가기
IT Tips

Seeing update of profile for the blocked friend on Kakaotalk

by SenseChef 2014. 6. 1.

Could somebody see an update of blocked friends in Kakaotalk ?


Recently I got question from my foreign readers for the feature on Kakaotalk. Actually she asks me the possibility to see the update of picture, status message of blocked friend.


This kind of question is frequently gotten from Korean users, too. This might mean that many Kakaotalk users block their friend after something goes wrong on their relationship.


Full question from my reader is as follows.


Hello. Thanks to you for replying on my previous queries about kakaotalk. I have 2 or 3 questions more. (:


So I tried the method in your blog about knowing if someone blocked you or not in kakao. So I invited my friend who I suspect blocked me and another friend of mine. I sent a message and the number suddenly changed from GROUP CHAT 3 into GROUP CHAT 2 which clearly means that I was blocked by my friend right?


But I also learned over some forums that even a friend blocked you in kakao, you can still see their updates such as profile picture and status change. Is this true?


And also, I was thinking of my friend just unregistered her account. Is it possible that when I created the group chat and it filtered those who 'blocked' me, could it be that she didn't blocked me and just unregistred?

Thank you so much! I will be waiting for your response.



Related article

  How to know someone blocked me on KakaoTalk !!!

  Change of Kakaotalk blocking condition upon unregistration and re-registration



Somebody couldn't see an update for their blocked friend.


To answer this question , I tested this on my two Kakaotalk accounts, just A and B here. I put account  B blocked in account A. Then blocked friend was immediately disappeared from friend lists having moved into the blocked friend list on account A.


I changed profile picture of account B which was blocked by account A, and monitors whether that change could be seen on account A.


My test results are saying that somebody could not see the update of blocked account.


Next image is for the blocked friend listing. It shows only picture of last moment  for the blocked friend.




Unblocking and blocking makes update visible.


If account A release blocking for account B, then account A could see the current profile of account B. This means that somebody could see the update of blocked friend by unblocking/blocking process.


Therefore picuture and status message could be seen by others upon their decision.


Here is summary of blocking feature mentioned above.



Difference between blocking and unregistered on the chatting !


If somebody unregistered from Kakaotalk, then the invitation on chatting room is impossible. This means that successful invitation on chatting is just saying one is still Kakaotalk user. 


So you don't need to worry about the ambiguity between blocking and unregistered.


Relationship is important and knowing of blocking condition on the SNS is mostly questioned. But the method introduced here could not be used for the proof of something.


I hope everybody is happy with their friend in the good relationship. Good day of all.




댓글2